Thursday, May 5, 2011

PA D.U.I./DWI Driver's License Implications

Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in PA -

The number of DUI arrests made by Pennsylvania State Troopers has been significantly increasing for the ninth straight year.  In fact, recent figures show that 17,695 arrests for DUI were made last year by state troopers alone and this number does not include any arrests for DUI made by local police.

Since this is such a hot topic lately and it has been statistically proven that the number of arrests are on the rise and will likely continue to do the same, it is important that you understand what could happen if you are facing a DUI charge in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

For the first offense, your license to drive is revoked, and if convicted, you are subject to jail time, heavy fines, and a court ordered license suspension of six months to three years. With each subsequent offense, Pennsylvania's penalties for driving under the influence become more severe.

Even if you were not involved in an accident, you could spend up to a year in jail, lose your car, have your license permanently revoked, and be subject to fines up to $10,000.

Many people who contact our office who have been charged with a D.U.I. do not know that if you refuse field sobriety testing, your license is automatically suspended temporarily.

If you have already been convicted of DUI on multiple occasions, your refusal may cost a five-year license suspension.  Depending on previous offenses or refusals, you can have your license automatically suspended for a period of 90 days to five years.
The administrative suspension is independent of any jail term, fine, or other criminal penalty imposed in court for a DUI offense.

If you are facing DUI or DAI charges in Pittsburgh, you need to consult with our office immediately to speak with a Pittsburgh drunk driving attorney who can help you through this process. You need to have an experienced DUI attorney on your side as soon as possible to discuss the facts and options before your first hearing date, which is normally the Preliminary Hearing.  Failing to be represented at your first hearing could damage your case.

SOURCE: WPXI -  "Pa. State Police: DUI Arrest Record Set Last Year"